The South Side Weekly is a nonprofit newsprint magazine dedicated to supporting cultural and civic engagement on the South Side, and to providing educational opportunities for developing journalists, writers, and artists.

We publish in-depth coverage of the arts and issues of public interest alongside oral histories, poetry, fiction, interviews, and artwork from local photographers and illustrators.

The paper is produced by an all-volunteer editorial staff and seeks contributions from across the city. We distribute each Wednesday in the fall, spring, and winter, with breaks during April and December. Over the summer we publish monthly. A full map of our distribution network is available here.

For information about advertising check out our media kit here or call (773)234-5388.

Send submissions, story ideas, comments, or questions to editor@southsideweekly.com or mail to:

Attn: South Side Weekly
Experimental Station
6100 S. Blackstone Ave.
Chicago, IL 60637


Editor-in-Chief Osita Nwanevu
Executive Editor Bess Cohen
Managing Editor Olivia Stovicek Jake Bittle

Politics Editors Christian Belanger
Education Editor Mari Cohen
Music Editor Maha Ahmed
Stage & Screen Editor Julia Aizuss 
Visual Arts Editor Corinne Butta
Editor-at-Large  Emeline Posner
Contributing Editors Lucia AhrensdorfSarah Claypoole,  Will Cabaniss, Eleonora Edreva, Lewis PageHafsa Razi, Sammie Spector
Social Media Editor Sam StecklowEmily LipsteinAustin Brown
Web Editor Andrew Koski
Visuals Editor Ellie Mejia
Deputy Visuals Editors Ellen Hao, Thumy Phan
Layout Editors Baci Weiler

Senior Writer Stephen Urchick
Staff Writers Olivia Adams, Emiliano Burr Di MauroMichal Kranz, Zoe Makoul, Sara CohenChristopher Good, Zoe Makoul, Sonia Schlesinger, Darren WanKristin Lin
Staff Photographers Juliet EldredFinn JubakAlexander Pizzirani, Julie Wu 
Staff Illustrators Javier SuarezAddie Barron, Jean Cochrane, Lexi Drexelius, Wei Yi Ow, Amber Sollenberger, Teddy Watler, Julie WuZelda Galewsky,  Seonhyung Kim

Editorial Interns Gozie Nwachukwu, Kezie Nwachukwu, Bilal Othman

Webmaster Sofia Wyetzner
Harry Backlund

Board of Directors

Secretary Clare Fentress
Director Darryl Holliday
Director Osita Nwanevu
Treasurer Harrison Smith
Chair Rachel Wiseman